FSPHP Events

On-Demand Education Session
Physician Suicide Prevention: Listening to the Voices of Experience

More information to come shortly.


AFSP - Interactive Screening Program (ISP) Demo for PHPs - June 28, 2022 from 12 - 1 EST

When:  Tues. June 28, 2022 from 12:00 - 1:00 pm EST

Who:    For FSPHP Physician/Professional Health Program Members (State, Associate, International, and Honorary Members)

Program Description:  

For FSPHP Physician Health (Professional Health) Program Members, join us on June 28, 2022, from 12-1 pm EST for a demo of AFSP's Interactive Screening Program and to discuss how PHPs can implement the program for health care professionals in their states. The Tennessee Medical Foundation with the Tennessee Physician Health Program, the Ohio State Medical Association in collaboration with their PHP, and soon the Arkansas Medical Foundation have implemented the AFSP’s ISP.

Speakers:  

Laura Hoffman
Senior Manager, Interactive Screening Program

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Maggie Mortali 
VP of Programs and Workplace Initiatives

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Description:  

  1. The attendee will become familiar with the utilization of the ISP platform.
  2. The learner will hear how to customize the ISP into its own mental health resource and appreciate the utilization statistics.
  3. The attendee will learn how to utilize this resource to decrease the stigma of mental health disorders, expand inclusivity, and potentially duplicate its success for its target population.                                                                         

The ISP was developed to offer physicians and other healthcare providers a proactive approach to mental health resources and treatment. The ISP can provide a resource for early intervention and referral to mental health resources, before mental health symptoms deteriorated to severe illness, functional impairment and suicide. The ISP was developed over a decade ago by the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. This vetted online screening platform includes the PHQ-9, covering depression, anxiety, trauma, substance use, and suicide; answers are computer-scored and quantified into four tiers. A mental health professional reviews the results and offers recommendations and further assistance or appropriate referrals. The user can then dialogue via the platform anonymously or opt to share an email address. AFSP assists with the onboarding process, including website integration and design.  There are implementation fees, and resources to put in place locally to manage the referrals which will be discussed on the call.  

Speaker Bio’s
Maggie Mortali - Since joining AFSP in 2011, Maggie Mortali established and now leads a department dedicated to AFSP’s workplace initiatives, including the groundbreaking Interactive Screening Program (ISP), an online assessment tool that connects users to the appropriate mental health services. In this role, she has cultivated partnerships with large public and private sector employers, institutions of higher education institutions and service agencies to enhance their mental health services and suicide prevention efforts. With over a decade of experience in the suicide prevention field, Ms. Mortali is a recognized thought leader in the use of internet-based technologies to reach at-risk populations who are resistant to seeking help. 

Laura Hoffman joined the staff of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention in 2011. Since 2014, she has managed the Interactive Screening Program (ISP), AFSP’s groundbreaking prevention program operating at over 170 college campuses, hospitals and health systems, and other organizations and workplaces nationwide to connect students, health care professionals, and other employees to available mental health services before crises emerge. She regularly speaks at national conferences as an implementation expert on suicide prevention strategy and programming. 

 

Register Here

FSPHP Regional Member Meetings
The purpose of these meetings is to share experiences, discuss and develop best practices, and enhance awareness of issues related to physician health and impairment.

Who Attends: FSPHP Regional Member Meetings are designed for Physician Health Program members (State, Associate, Honorary and International PHP members), yet a portion of the meeting will be open to all FSPHP Member Categories.

SAVE THESE DATES FOR 2022 VIRTUAL MEETINGS

Southeast Region
Tuesday, October 18, 2022

10:00am – 5:00pm Eastern; 9:00am – 4:00pm Central; 8:00am – 3:00pm Mountain; 7:00am – 2:00pm Pacific
Click here to register


Northeast Region
Thursday, October 27, 2022
10:00am – 5:00pm Eastern; 9:00am – 4:00pm Central; 8:00am – 3:00pm Mountain; 7:00am – 2:00pm Pacific
Click here to register

Central Region
Friday, November 18, 2022
10:00am – 5:00pm Central; 11:00am – 6:00pm Eastern; 9:00am – 4:00pm Mountain; 8:00am – 3:00pm Pacific
Click here to register

Western Region
Friday, December 2, 2022
10:00am – 5:00pm Pacific; 11:00am - 6:00pm Mountain; 12:00pm - 7:00pm Central; 1:00pm - 8:00pm Eastern
Click here to register


Sponsorship of our 2022 Regional Meeting

Educational Grant contributions:

  • $1000 – logo acknowledgment on agenda, a slide for introductions, and dial-in information for a representative to participate during the appropriate segments of the meeting.

The FSPHP 2023 Annual Education Conference and Meeting - May 2-6, 2023 in Minneapolis, MN. 

Watch for the Call for Presentation and Exhibitor Registration this summer.